Forces Reunited
Current Members: 1,001,468  
 
 
    HOME    
FORCES WAR RECORDS
 FORCES SHOP 
FORCES DATING
FORCES DISCOUNTS

Community
  >> Search >> Home


You are not logged in. Click here to login or click here to register.

Turn off these pesky adverts! - What is this?

Forces Reunited - Malicious URLs
www.forcesreunited.org.uk >> Help Forum >> Computer Help and Answers >> Malicious URLs
Forces Reunited Forums
>> Post New Topic
<< Prev 1 2 [3]
AuthorTopic
Carl Graffham
"Veni, vermini, vomui"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 1457
Status: Offline
Dave

I have a couple of comments here....hopefully others can either confirm them, or come up with other suggestions.

Firstly...have a look at your wireless connection set up....have you got it set to connect to any available connection?  If so your wireless modem may find it easier to connect to someone else’s router, especially if the other router is not secure (with a wappsk type encryption for instance.)

Secondly is your own router encrypted.  I have a 29 character passkey on my router.  It is made up of upper and lower case letters, some numbers, and some characters such as $ and ^ and ( et cetera.

With such a key it would take very sophisticated software to break the passkey code easily.

Carl


I fear the geek, even though he comes bearing gifs.
Report Post
10/02/2012 12:06:44
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Dave Whitfield
"ceylon220"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 616
Status: Offline
Some very helpful comments there Carl, checked everything that you have mentioned
wireless set up to my own connection and router is encrypted and protected, every thing in place
(security enabled wireless network showing my name only)------Checked again my Avast and this reports no virus etc, yet still getting this Malicious URL
(194.127.97.95/Banner 589595004 whatever these mean).
Anyway thanks again all of you lads for your help,
always open for suggestions.

Regards
Dave
Report Post
11/02/2012 10:19:48
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Murray Whyte
Add Forum Tag
Moderator





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 5250
Status: Offline

Quoting: Dave Whitfield
Some very helpful comments there Carl, checked everything that you have mentioned
wireless set up to my own connection and router is encrypted and protected, every thing in place
(security enabled wireless network showing my name only)------Checked again my Avast and this reports no virus etc, yet still getting this Malicious URL
(194.127.97.95/Banner 589595004 whatever these mean).
Anyway thanks again all of you lads for your help,
always open for suggestions.

Regards
Dave  



Dave,

As far as I can determine, the IP address 194.127.97.95 belongs to Vereinigte Motor-Verlage GmbH, Stuttgart and it points to their website banner.

This is a music company that you can download songs and CDs from.

Try this and see if it produces any results.

Click on Start button and put 194.127.97.95 into the search box and see if anything appears.

If it does then right click on it and click on Properties.  This will give you the location of the file.

I was using Avast for a few years but found that I also had to use Malware software as well.

Download and install Malware bytes (malwarebytes.org) and run a scan.

Another good programme is Super anti spyware (superantispyware.com) - use the free version.


My current systems are protected by Microsoft Security Essentials and so far so good.
Report Post
11/02/2012 14:58:08
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Murray Whyte
Add Forum Tag
Moderator





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 5250
Status: Offline

Quoting: Dave Whitfield

-----------
Google chrome/Internet Explorer.

Does these make a difference to getting URLs Murray? I hate it when we get these warnings,everything has been great until this appeared and it makes me wonder if any of my files etc have been effected with it.



Dave,

IE has a pop-up blocker.  Make sure it is enabled.

On Chrome, click on the spanner followed by tools then extensions.  Search for Adblock and Adblock plus.  Install both and ads are yesterdays news..

These should help by keeping some ads away from the PC.

Hope this helps
Report Post
11/02/2012 15:04:30
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Dave Whitfield
"ceylon220"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 616
Status: Offline
Again thanks for your help lads, I`ve checked the IP number and it throws up 3 areas---

HP Inks,Nissan Altima, Tacoma Box---the ink one is the only one that I have used,never heard of the others,
anyway we will just pedal on and see if we have cracked it with your advice.

Dave
Report Post
11/02/2012 21:30:13
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
<< Prev 1 2 [3]
>> Reply To This Post
Moderated By: Edward Bishop, Murray Whyte,Bob Draper
Users Here:
REGISTER
LOGIN
FIND FRIENDS
MILITARY NEWS
CAMPAIGNS
REUNIONS
GALLERY
FORUMS
CHAT ROOM
REMEMBRANCE
HONOUR ROLL
TESTIMONIALS
MEMORIES
COMPETITIONS
ADVERTISE
MEDIA CENTRE
WHO'S ONLINE?
AFFILIATES
FAQ/CONTACT US
ABOUT US
BOOKMARK US
HOME
Recommend this page to a friend.
Your Name:
Friends Name:
Friends Email:

About Contact Us Advertise Military Records New Members Terms Military Genealogy Sitemap