Forces Reunited
Current Members: 1,001,461  
 
 
    HOME    
FORCES WAR RECORDS
 FORCES SHOP 
FORCES DATING
FORCES DISCOUNTS

Community
  >> Search >> Home


You are not logged in. Click here to login or click here to register.

Turn off these pesky adverts! - What is this?
Get a FREE "Proud to be a Forces veteran" Badge
Show how proud you are to be a Forces Veteran with your free badge.
Click Here Now!

Forces Reunited - Malicious URLs
www.forcesreunited.org.uk >> Help Forum >> Computer Help and Answers >> Malicious URLs
Forces Reunited Forums
>> Post New Topic
<< Prev 1 [2] 3 Next >>
AuthorTopic
Dave Whitfield
"ceylon220"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 616
Status: Offline

Quoting: Murray Whyte


What is your main browser (firefox, internet explorer etc)?


-----------
Google chrome/Internet Explorer.

Does these make a difference to getting URLs Murray? I hate it when we get these warnings,everything has been great until this appeared and it makes me wonder if any of my files etc have been effected with it.
Report Post
09/02/2012 13:56:51
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Bob Draper
"Bob (tuffy ) Draper"
Expert





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 1218
Status: Offline

Quoting: Dave Whitfield

-----------
Google chrome/Internet Explorer.

Does these make a difference to getting URLs Murray? I hate it when we get these warnings,everything has been great until this appeared and it makes me wonder if any of my files etc have been effected with it.

Hi Dave,
It is the avast software you are using, since they updated, their software has started reporting certain good url’s as being malicious, go to their forums and tell them which you are having trouble with’

Regards Bob..... my pc desktop O/S vista laptop o/s win7
Report Post
09/02/2012 14:14:58
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Dave Whitfield
"ceylon220"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 616
Status: Offline

Quoting: Bob Draper
Hi Dave,
It is the avast software you are using, since they updated, their software has started reporting certain good url’s as being malicious, go to their forums and tell them which you are having trouble with’




Thanks Bob will give it a try and see how we go from there.
Report Post
09/02/2012 14:29:06
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Carl Graffham
"Veni, vermini, vomui"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 1457
Status: Offline
Bob

Hi friend, long time no chat.

Thanks for that comment.  I use Avast and, as far as I can tell, I have no problems.

To date Avast has not advised me of any malicious URLs which doesn’t mean a lot, but makes me wonder whether the reporting is genuine in Dave’s case.

Maybe folk who comment on these types of warnings could actually help by quoting the URL itself.

Carl


I fear the geek, even though he comes bearing gifs.
Report Post
09/02/2012 19:08:10
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
Dave Whitfield
"ceylon220"





Membership Level: Full
Posts: 616
Status: Offline
Carl could be right, when I click in to Google Chrome/Int Explorer I get the sign saying that my wireless network connection is BT Hub etc yet I only have the one connection which when I go onto it it automatically goes to this BT Hub and further to this when I go and look at my Router the Internet light is showing RED(not green when connected) yet it lets me into the web site. Ihave played around with it and now the BT Hub wireless connection has gone and I am back to my own named connection and the Router Internet light is back to green----this is beginning to get me worried, do you think that someone in my area has managed to get into my connections.

My Router is a WIRELESS ADSL  D Link

                NOT A

 BT HUB  ?????????????????????

Any advise would be most welcome.


Ps.  Hope this makes sense because I`m bewildered by it.



 

Last edited by Dave Whitfield

Last edited by Dave Whitfield
Report Post
09/02/2012 23:08:11
                                                   >> Edit This Post >> Quote This Post
<< Prev 1 [2] 3 Next >>
>> Reply To This Post
Moderated By: Edward Bishop, Murray Whyte,Bob Draper
Users Here: jack (jock) kelly
REGISTER
LOGIN
FIND FRIENDS
MILITARY NEWS
CAMPAIGNS
REUNIONS
GALLERY
FORUMS
CHAT ROOM
REMEMBRANCE
HONOUR ROLL
TESTIMONIALS
MEMORIES
COMPETITIONS
ADVERTISE
MEDIA CENTRE
WHO'S ONLINE?
AFFILIATES
FAQ/CONTACT US
ABOUT US
BOOKMARK US
HOME
Recommend this page to a friend.
Your Name:
Friends Name:
Friends Email:

About Contact Us Advertise Military Records New Members Terms Military Genealogy Sitemap